Where has this semester gone?!? I’m simply flabbergasted with how little time I have left. Motivation is severely lacking, but I’m making a valiant attempt to muster up enough to finish this week.

After commenting on another class’s Animoto projects, we have the opportunity to create our own. So pulling in all my crazy Spanishness, I decided to use a flamenco influenced Animoto as a hook to a cultural lesson. Before I began this, we looked up information on how teachers are using this tool in the classroom setting. Various sites I found through Google suggested using Animoto because you can download the video slideshows you create. This would be handy if you have limited internet access. Also, the program is straight forward and easy for most people to work with. It is a great way to present vocabulary or as a preview of the lesson to come. Some cool Animotos included a vocabulary introduction, a presentation of Civil Rights, and even one on bridge building. Most sites emphasized the free Animoto privilege given to educators. This is a great way to encourage learning and it’s wonderful that the makers have realized this.

Although I can see the benefits of Animoto, I personally won’t use it that often I believe. I would rather use another slideshow tool that has more ways in which you can manipulate the times pictures are up and such. From what I saw, it was limited to the basic template you choose and modifications are hard to make. It may be that I simply didn’t dedicate enough time to it to discover the various quirks of the program, but I just believe I could create a slideshow better using other methods/tools for creation.  If I want students to create a simple wrap up of the unit or to produce their own vocabulary list, I might employ Animoto. As I’ve mentioned in other post, however, the goal of speaking the language in a communicative fashion will be most important in my classroom. This program doesn’t allow this. Only time will tell if I will use Animoto.

